PFA Awards: Kevin De Bruyne wins Player of the Year

Manchester City star Kevin de Bruyne earned the plaudits from his fellow Premier League stars as he was named PFA Men’s Player of the Year.

De Bruyne beat Liverpool quartet Jordan Henderson, Virgil van Dijk, Sadio Mane and Trent Alexander-Arnold plus team-mate Raheem Sterling to the gong.

Manchester United star Marcus Rashford was also honoured as he was given a special PFA Merit Award for his work tackling child poverty.

The forward was given special recognition for his sterling work campaigning for free school meals, prompting a government U-turn during lockdown.

He missed out to Alexander-Arnold on the PFA Young Player of the Award though has vowed to continue his fight against child poverty.

read also: Mane wins PFA Fans’ POTY award after Henderson, De Bruyne prizes

The six shortlisted players made the Premier League Team of the Year, along with Nick Pope, Caglar Soyuncu, David Silva, Jamie Vardy and Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang.

Full list of PFA Awards
PFA Merit Award: Marcus Rashford

PFA Players’ Player of the Year: Kevin De Bruyne

PFA Women’s Player of the Year: Beth England

PFA Men’s Young Player of the Year: Trent Alexander-Arnold

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *