Oyo Technical University Set To Commence Academic Activities For 14 Programme


The Oyo state Technical University (Tech-U), Ibadan, is set to commence academic activities for 14 programmes, after receiving approval from National Universities Commission (NUC).

The approved courses in the university are to be run in seven departments and two faculties newly established in the institution, namely; Faculties of Natural Sciences and Engineering and Technology.

The approved courses with full accreditation are: Microbiology, Industrial Chemistry, Physics with Electronics, Software Engineering, Computer Science, Cyber Security, Mathematics, and Statistics.

Other courses include Agricultural Engineering, Biomedical Engineering, Food Science and Technology, Electrical and Electronic Engineering, Mechanical Engineering and Petroleum Engineering.

Prof. Ayobami Salami, the Vice Chancellor, in expressing his delight, said, “As a technical university, we have an abiding obligation to efficiently and responsibly use theoretical and practical knowledge of science, technology, and engineering in engaging societal problems while maintaining a culture of entrepreneurship anchored on quality programmes that are responsive and financially suitable and sustainable.”

READ  Contribution of Technology and Education in Life Improvement

“It is in that connection that we provide entrepreneurial and vocational trainings to all students.”

He said the University would operate in a way that ensures that higher education live up to its highest potential to ennoble the human spirit and advance human society.

Salami said all students will go through training in two vocational programmes for certification before graduation.

Students will be required to sign in for French Language and that students will also learn another Nigerian language apart from their native tongue, also students will undergo immersion as a prerequisite for graduation.

Facebook Comments



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here